Why are the smoky mountains called the smoky mountains?

The name "Smoky" comes from the natural fog that often hangs over the range and presents as large smoke plumes from a distance. This fog is caused by the vegetation exhaling volatile organic compounds,chemicals that have a high vapor pressure and easily form vapors at normal temperature and pressure