How do you mediate?

Find a common goal. Acknowledge we only see from our perspective, seek to truly understand one another. One person at a time, use I statements, complete your thoughts. Own your mistakes, acknowledge others good. Separate facts from interpretations by asking clarifying questions. Be patient & kind.