What are crystals made of?

A crystal is made up of atoms of the same element or atoms of different elements [like silica (Si) or calcium (Ca)], and the atoms have a regular, repeating arrangement. Crystals are very ordered, the arrangement of a certain crystal is always the same.

---

Crystals are formed in nature when liquid (such as magma) cools and hardens as certain molecules group together in a uniform, repeating pattern.