What states have the cardinal as their state bird?

There are seven states that proudly have cardinals as the state birds: Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, North Carolina, Ohio, Virginia, and West Virginia.

---

The northern cardinal gets top honors among state birds, representing seven states total: Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, North Carolina, Ohio, Virginia and West Virginia.