Who won the scopes monkey trial?

In 1925, William Jennings Bryan joined the prosecution, and Clarence Darrow joined the ACLU, for the defense of John Thomas Scopes, who was accused of teaching evolution, a violation of the Butler Act. Scopes was found guilty and was fined $100. The verdict was overturned on a technicality in 1927.