What kind of animal is a push me pull you?

In the Doctor Doolittle books, a pushmi pullyu is a cross between a gazelle and a unicorn and has a head (one of each type) at either end of its body. In the 19 67 film and subsequent television series, it is portrayed as a double-headed llama with a head at opposite ends.