What does it mean when a cat's tail is down?

Defensiveness. A lowered tail also frequently is a sign of defensiveness in a feline, especially if it's slightly twisted in form. In this instance, your cat may be feeling very scared of someone or something. She might be attempting to stay out of a fight with another cat she feels is stronger.