What does broil do on an oven?

When the oven is set to broil the heating elements or gas flame, located in the top of the oven come on. This gives the same effect as cooking on a grill except that the heat comes from above hence the item in the oven is broiled.

---

According to Maytag.com, broiling uses only the upper heating element in your oven, applying high temps to the top of dishes for fast flavor. Use this method to cook and crisp delicate foods or brown the top of already-cooked dishes. Most broil settings use temps between 500 and 550° F.