What is the difference between table salt and epsom salt?

Table salt, known as sodium chloride, is made up of the elements sodium and chlorine. Epsom salt comes from a naturally occurring magnesium sulfate mineral called epsomite, containing the chemical components magnesium, sulfur, and oxygen. Epsom salt isn't for eating and isn't actually true salt.