When and where was jingle bells written?

James Lord Pierpont wrote "Jingle Bells", originally titled "The One Horse Open Sleigh". A plaque in the Boston suburb of Medford, Massachusetts, claims that he wrote the famous tune while nursing a drink in the Simpson Tavern in 1850. It was published in 1857 by Oliver Ditson and Company.