What's the difference between white cooking wine and white wine vinegar?

White “cooking wine” is white wine that has been salted and sometimes flavored with herbs or other flavorings. It is usually generic industrial grade wine, that is nothing special. White wine vinegar is vinegar made directly from white wine, often of comparable quality to the wine mentioned above.