Where did the term cold feet come from?

The Oxford English Dictionary attributes the earliest usage of “cold feet” in this sense to the writer and poet Stephen Crane. "They got cold feet.” That is, they lost courage or enthusiasm. By the early 1900s, the phrase was being used on college campuses.