What year did federal income tax begin?

The financial requirements of the Civil War prompted the first American income tax in 1861. At first, Congress placed a flat 3% tax on all incomes over $800 and later modified this principle to include a graduated tax. Congress repealed the income tax in 1872, but the concept did not disappear.