What was the purpose of the japanese attack on pearl harbor hawaii?

The goal of the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor was to knock out the major capabilities of the United States Navy in the Pacific Ocean. While it caused significant damage and loss of life ultimately it failed to neutralize the aircraft carriers and fuel depots.