When did spain colonize mexico?

Spaniard Hernán Cortés arrived at Veracruz, Mexico in 1519. In May 1521, Cortez attacked and conquered the Aztecs. Cortés then colonized the area and named it Nueva España (New Spain). By 1574, Spain controlled a large portion of the Aztec empire and had enslaved most of the ndigenous population