What's the difference between rhythm and tempo?

Rhythm refers to the kind of beats. A waltz, for example, has a 3-beat rhythm, while a calypso has a syncopated 4-beat rhythm. Tempo refers to the, speed, of the music, regardless of the rhythmic pattern.