Why are potatoes green?

It depends. The green could mean there is a small amount of chlorophyll, which is not harmful. But dark green potatoes are dangerous. They can have solanine, which can make you very sick. It is better to throw the potato out.

---

Exposure to light makes potatoes turn green. Green potatoes contain high levels of a toxin, solanine, which is potentially harmful. You should cut away green areas before eating.