How old are bananas?

Bananas have been deliberately cultivated since between 8000 and 5000 BCE, first appearing in Southeast Asia and Papua New Guinea. A banana's ripeness can be judged by the color of its peel, ranging from green to brown with a solid yellow peel indicating ripeness.