What's the difference between a pterodactyl and a pteranodon?

Pterodactyl is a term often used to refer to any pterosaur,though some prefer to reserve it for the short tailed,more advanced species.If this is what you meant by pterodactyl,the answer is that Pteranodon is a type of pterodactyl. Male Pteranodon also have a prominent head crest that females lack.