What happened to paul reubens?

In July 1991, Reubens, known for his character Pee-wee Herman, was arrested for indecent exposure in an adult theater in Florida. This set off a chain reaction of national media attention that changed general public's view of Reubens. The arrest postponed involvement in major projects until 1999.