Why do we have knee caps?

Your kneecap, known as the patella, is a small bone that protects your knee joint.In those cases, though, surgeons do not create or install kneecap prostheses—because you can walk without a kneecap. Kneeling, however, may be a challenge without one, requiring protective gear.