How did hootie hoo day get started?

In the late 1980s, Thomas Roy of central Pennsylvania's WIOV-FM submitted it to the book "Chase’s Calendar of Events" as a joke. He was quite surprised that it was published, and was surprised even further when he found out that the holiday was picked up by USA Today.