How many bones are in the human hand?

Reference.com says, "The human hand consists of 27 bones. There are eight carpal bones, and 14 are bones of the fingers, which are called proximal, intermediate and distal bones. Five metacarpal bones connect the fingers to the wrist and make up the palm of the hand."