How do you turn half and half into heavy cream?

If cooking, you can add butter and water to half and half to get equal amounts of heavy cream. To mimic 1 cup of heavy cream, use .5 C of half and half plus .4 C of butter plus 1/8 C water. This works when heating and cooking, but may not work for uses (like whipping) which don't involve cooking.