Who sang down on mainstreet?

Down on mainstreet was sung by Bob Seger. The name of the song was actually just Mainstreet, but contained the words Down on mainstreet, at the end of each verse. Bob Seger's Silver Bullet Band played the song. The song was first released in April 1977, as part of the album Night Moves.