How was playdough invented?

The invention of play dough was actually a fortunate accident. In the 1930s, Noah McVicker created a substance that looked like putty out of flour, water, salt, boric acid and mineral oil. His family's soap company Kutol Products in Cincinnati, Ohio, marketed his creation as wallpaper cleaner!