What is binary?

Binary is a system relating to, or composed of, or involving two things. In computers it refers to the numbers 0 and 1.

---

The word BINARY, refers to a choice of two alternatives (such as, on or off, yes or no). In computing and digital electronics, it refers to a number system that uses two digits to represent all numbers. These two digits — 0 and 1— are also called binary digits, or "bits" for short.