Is saint thomas part of the bahamas?

There are several islands comprising the Bahamas. They are in the Atlantic not the Caribbean and are a Commonwealth of the UK. St Thomas is one island (but close to several others), in the Caribbean, US territory so no passport needed for US citizens.