How many times do you breathe in a day?

An adult human weighing about 70kg has a resting respiratory rate of 12 breaths a minute. 60 minutes in an hour, 24 hours in a day makes 17820 breaths in a 24-hr period. During this time he will inhale about 8640 litres of air.

---

The average person will breathe 16-20 times per minute while awake, and 12-20 times per minute while asleep, averaging out to 960 per hour and 23,040 breaths a day.

---

A person has an average resipiration rate of 15-20 times per minute. Therefore the average person has between 21,600 and 28,800 breaths per day.