What was the birdman of alcatraz?

Robert Stroud was known as the Birdman of Alcatraz. A convicted murderer, he was imprisoned from 1909 until his death in 1963. At Leavenworth penitentiary, Stroud found a birds nest and eventually up to 300 canaries. When transferred to Alcatraz prison in 1942 he was not allowed to keep his birds.