How do you get iron in animal crossing?

To get iron nuggets in Animal Crossing: New Horizons, stand next to a rock, holding your shovel. Turn around and dig two holes, so you won't bounce back when hitting the rock. Hit the rock as many times as you can, as quickly as you can. Not all rocks have iron nuggets.