What can you use as a replacement for vanilla extract?

My favorite substitution is Maple Syrup: which mimics vanilla’s mellow flavor nicely. Use a one-to-one ratio. Almond Extract, can be potent so use half the amount of almond extract. Or You can just leave the Vanilla extract out. However, leaving it out of a recipe will change the flavor slightly.