What is the definition of is?

The word "is," spelled I-S, is a form of the word "to be," applied to any third-person singular noun. I am, you are, they are, and it is.

---

Definition of is ; 1 · equal : homogeneous : uniform isentropic ; 2 · isomeric isocyanate ; 3 · for or from different individuals of the same species