When was the polio outbreak?

Before the 20th century, poor sanitation meant constant exposure to polio, which enhanced a natural immunity in the population. Small polio epidemics began to appear in Europe and the United States around 1900. Outbreaks reached pandemic proportions during the first half of the 20th century.