Why do cats have dew claws?

The dewclaw on cats is not vestigial. Wild felids use the dewclaw in hunting, where it provides an additional claw with which to catch and hold prey. Cats seldom use dew claws except when trying to get a better hold on their toys or prey. It also offers additional support in stretching and climbing.