What does it mean when a chicken melts?

Usually, chickens periodically molt as a natural process to replace old or damaged feathers. (That's assuming you meant to say "molts" and not "melts." If a chicken melts, it probably got into something extremely hazardous such as the Ark of the Covenant.)