What's the activator in slime?

Elmer's glue is the main ingredient for slime, along with water and borax or liquid fabric softener, called "slime activators" in the slime world. From there, adding food coloring or paint will change the hue, and adding glitter or tiny balls or beads adds sparkle or texture.