Why does metal spark in the microwave?

Microwave ovens creating high-frequency electromagnetic fields inside the oven cavity. a microwave oven, even short pieces or small open loops of metal act as tiny antennas which can develop thousands of volts. high voltages cause arcing to pieces of metal, across gaps in loops.