Where do spires come from?

A spire is a tapering conical or pyramidal structure on the top of a building, often a church tower, similar to a steep tented roof. The word is derived from the Old English word spir, meaning a sprout, a shoot, or stalk of grass. The original spire was constructed in between 1220 and 1230.