Do you have to be a member of congress to be the speaker of the house?

The Constitution does not require the speaker to be an incumbent member of the House of Representatives, although every speaker to date has been. The speaker is second in the United States presidential line of succession, after the vice president and ahead of the president pro tempore of the Senate.