What is the fundamental accounting equation?

It is also called the balance sheet equation. It seeks to explain the relationship between the assets constituting a business and the funds that have been used to finance their purchase, it is the basis of the double entry bookkeeping system. It is expressed as: assets equal liabilities plus equity.