How many breeds of foxes are there?

There are 37 species of foxes, but only 12 belong to the genus “vulpes” or “true foxes”. The best known of them are: Red Fox, Arctic Fox, Kit Fox, Fennec Fox, and the Gray Fox. The largest species of fox is known as the Red Fox