Where did the term from scratch come from?

The phrase from scratch originated with footraces in which the starting line was scratched on the ground

---

To create something from scratch is to make it without any ingredients or materials prepared ahead of time. “From scratch” comes from the starting point of a race, where the line is scratched into the ground and everyone starts without a head-start.