Why are charley horses called charley horses?

In the 1890s, an old horse named Charley was used in the old White Sox ballpark to pull a roller across the infield. He was old and his muscles would get so stiff he could hardly walk. Players & spectators who caught a cramp thought of the old horse and started calling the condition a charley horse.