What does a bit mean in time?

Soon, in no hurry, short lapse of time. depends on the context of the conversation as to how long the bit means. For example, I’ll do it in a bit. Bit there would be a few minute or hours. Something like they left and it was a long bit before we saw them again. That could be several months or year.