Why do americans not use the metric system?

our first sec of state, Thomas Jefferson was charged with deciding which set of measures would be best for the country. He had been instrumental in creating the dollar—the first fully decimal measure any nation used. Jefferson rejected the metric system because in origin he found it to be too French