Who invented the york peppermint patty?

The York Peppermint Pattie was first produced in York, Pennsylvania by Henry Kessler at his York Cone Company in 1940. Chocolate-covered peppermints already existed before the York Peppermint Pattie came on the market, the York differed in that it was more firm and crisp than the competition.