What's the difference between alchemy and chemistry?

Alchemy contains many elements of mysticism and magic, and its practitioners closely guarded their "secrets". A major goal of alchemy was the transmutation of elements, especially turning base metals into gold. Chemistry is strictly science-based and deals with how elements form useful compounds.