Why did they cancel gravity falls?

As Gravity Falls creator Alex Hirsch outlined in his 2015 tweet, he had always intended for the show to be short and sweet — a simple story told over a single summer. And there's good reason for a creator to end such a wildly popular show in its prime: integrity.