What's the difference between saturated and unsaturated fats?

In a saturated fat, there are mostly single bonds between the carbon atoms, with hydrogen "saturating" the extra bonds, making the molecules less able to bond with others. Excessive amounts of saturated fats have a negative impact on human health including cholesterol levels.